Big Bash League (BBL)

The Big Bash League (BBL) is Australia’s premier domestic Twenty20 (T20) cricket competition. Please refer to cricket exchange. Big Bash League is renowned for its high-caliber cricket, entertainment value, and influence on the Australian cricketing scene. The BBL has successfully attracted major sponsors and commercial partners, contributing to the financial stability and growth of the league.

History of Big Bash League (BBL)

Big Bash League (BBL)

Here’s a brief history of the BBL:

Inception (2011-2012)

The BBL was first introduced in the 2011-2012 season. The Big Bash League is completely under the control of Cricket Australia. The BBL adopted a franchise-based format, with each team representing Australia’s specific city or region. This format aimed to enhance city-based rivalries and fan engagement. The league featured eight teams representing major Australian cities and regions. Here are the complete details.

  • Adelaide Strikers: Based in Adelaide, South Australia. They play their home matches at the Adelaide Oval.
  • Brisbane Heat: Representing Brisbane, Queensland. They play their home matches at the Gabba (Brisbane Cricket Ground).
  • Hobart Hurricanes: Representing Hobart, Tasmania. Their home matches are played at the Bellerive Oval.
  • Melbourne Renegades: Based in Melbourne, Victoria. Their home matches are held at the Marvel Stadium (Docklands Stadium).
  • Melbourne Stars: Also based in Melbourne, Victoria. They play their home matches at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).
  • Perth Scorchers: Representing Perth, Western Australia. They play their home matches at the Optus Stadium.
  • Sydney Sixers: Based in Sydney, New South Wales. Their home matches are played at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG).
  • Sydney Thunder: Based in Sydney, New South Wales. They play their home matches at the Sydney Showground Stadium.

Big Bash League (BBL) Winners List

Big Bash League (BBL) award

BBL has been one of the toughest cricket leagues in the world. All eight teams promote balancing in their squads and play cricket on full merit. A few teams have not won a single season so far. On the other hand, a few teams won it more than once. Here is a full list of winners.

  1. 2011-2012: Sydney Sixers
  2. 2012-2013: Brisbane Heat
  3. 2013-2014: Perth Scorchers
  4. 2014-2015: Perth Scorchers
  5. 2015-2016: Sydney Thunder
  6. 2016-2017: Perth Scorchers
  7. 2017-2018: Adelaide Strikers
  8. 2018-2019: Melbourne Renegades
  9. 2019-2020: Sydney Sixers
  10. 2020-2021: Sydney Sixers
  11. 2021-22: Perth Scorchers
  12. 2022-23: Perth Scorchers
Big Bash League (BBL) team

Controversies and Challenges

Big Bash League is one of the world’s luckiest leagues, with almost no controversies. The player’s arguments and fights with each other are the only highlighting points. Here are two incidents that got mainstream attraction in the cricket fraternity.

1.      Shane Warne vs Marlon Samuels

One of the most infamous incidents involving Marlon Samuels and Shane Warne occurred during a Big Bash League (BBL) match in 2013. Samuels was playing for the Melbourne Renegades, while Warne was captaining the Melbourne Stars. Warne allegedly grabbed Samuels’ shirt and accused him of using abusive language. It led to a heated exchange between the two players, and both were subsequently fined for their conduct.

2.      Chris Gayle Controversial Interview with Mel McLaughlin

The Mel McLaughlin and Chris Gayle interview controversy occurred during a live broadcast in January 2016. Sports presenter Mel McLaughlin interviewed Chris Gayle after a match in the Big Bash League (BBL), where Gayle played for the Melbourne Renegades. During the interview, Chris Gayle made a widely criticized comment for being inappropriate and unprofessional. He said to Mel McLaughlin, “I wanted to come and have an interview with you as well, that’s the reason why I’m here… to see your eyes for the first time. Hopefully, we win this game, and we can have a drink after.”

The comment was widely interpreted as making advances towards Mel McLaughlin and was met with significant backlash from the cricketing community and the public. Many considered it to be disrespectful and offensive. In response to the controversy, the Melbourne Renegades fined Chris Gayle $10,000 for his comments, citing a breach of the team’s code of conduct. The Renegades’ CEO also publicly apologized to Mel McLaughlin.

BBL Prize Money and Individual Awards

The total prize money for the tournament is 890,000 AUD. The winning teams got 450,000 AUD in 2023, and the losing team earned 260,000 AUD. The Semi-Finalist teams got 80,000 AUD and 20,000 AUD for the fifth team. Here are a few individual awards for players.

Player of the Tournament (The KFC BBL Player of the Tournament)

This award is given to the player who has made the most significant impact throughout the BBL season, considering their performances with both bat and ball.

Player of the Match

Each match in the BBL has a Player of the Match award, which is presented to the player who delivered the most outstanding performance in that game.

Player of the Final

It is a special award given to the best player of the final match every year.

Golden Bat

This award recognizes the highest run-scorer in the tournament.

Golden Arm

This award is presented to the leading wicket-taker of the tournament.

Introduction of New Rules in Big Bash League

Big Bash introduced some unique rules to increase the fans’ excitement in the cricket league. Here is a summary of these rules.

Timeout Rule: New batters must arrive at their crease within 60 seconds and be prepared to receive the following delivery to speed up the game. If they don’t comply with the new law, they must move aside and give the bowler a free delivery. The hitter is out if the bowler strikes the stumps.

Power Surge Rule: A second batting Powerplay is effectively permitted by the law governing the Power Surge. The fielding side is limited to two fielders outside the 30-yard fielding circle during the two-over time. The batting team can take it from the 11th over onwards. The bowling powerplay was reduced to 4 overs.

X-Factor Player Rule: In a BBL game, substitutes are permitted under the X-Factor rule. Beyond the initial 11 players that take the field, each team will name a 12th and 13th player. They may introduce one, but not both, of those players after the tenth over of the first innings.

Bash Boost: The Bash Boost is a bonus point awarded to the side that played the best after ten overs. The comparative scores are evaluated at the end of the tenth over of the second innings, and the Bash Boost point goes to the team with the greatest score.

Big Bash League (BBL) team logo

Please visit Cricket Exchange CREX for cricket betting.