ICC Champions Trophy

The ICC Champions Trophy is a One-Day International (ODI) cricket tournament organised by the International Cricket Council or ICC. Please refer to cricket exchange. Inaugurated in 1998, The ICC conceived the idea of the Champions Trophy – a short cricket tournament to raise funds for the development of the game in non-test playing countries. It remains as one of those ICC events that had the same format as that of another big cricketing event, like the Cricket World Cup, with the format being ODI’s.

History of the ICC Champions Trophy

ICC Champions Trophy logo

The ICC Champions Trophy, organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC), is a One-Day International (ODI) cricket tournament that started in 1998. It was initially called the ICC KnockOut Tournament and was renamed in 2002. The event was conceived to raise funds for cricket development in non-test playing countries and has also become a significant revenue source for the ICC, held in countries like India and England. Initially held every two years up to 2006, the tournament shifted to a four-year cycle, with the 2008 edition moved to South Africa due to security concerns.

It features the top eight ODI teams based on ICC rankings six months before the tournament. The Champions Trophy is shorter than the World Cup, lasting about two and a half weeks, with fewer teams participating. Australia and India have each won the tournament twice, while Pakistan, South Africa, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, and the West Indies have won once. The 2017 Champions Trophy was won by Pakistan, defeating India. The tournament was set to be scrapped in favor of a new T20 World Cup format but was reinstated for the 2025 cycle.

ICC Champions Trophy 1998

The 1998 ICC KnockOut Trophy, later known as the ICC Champions Trophy, was an ODI International cricket tournament held in Bangladesh. It was the inaugural event of its kind, involving all Test-playing nations at the time. South Africa, Sri Lanka, India, and West Indies played in the semi-finals. South Africa triumphed over West Indies in the final to claim the title. The tournament faced challenges, including severe floods in the region, but proceeded with Bangladesh donating a portion of the gate revenue to flood relief. The competition format was a direct knockout, with nine eligible countries. African allrounder Jack Kallis won the Man of the Tournament award.

ICC Champions Trophy 2000

The 2000 ICC KnockOut Trophy was an ODI cricket tournament hosted in Kenya, marking New Zealand’s first major ICC win. Pakistan, New Zealand, India, and South reached the semi-final stage; New Zealand beat India to win the Trophy. Featuring 11 teams, including all Test-playing nations, Bangladesh, and Kenya, it promoted cricket in Kenya. The tournament had a playoff stage for the lowest-ranked teams, with India and Sri Lanka winning their pre-quarterfinal matches against Kenya and West Indies, respectively. Sourav Ganguly was the top scorer with 348 runs, and Venkatesh Prasad claimed the most wickets, eight in total.

ICC Champions Trophy 2002

ICC Champion Trophy 2002 was held in Sri Lanka. India, Australia, Pakistan, South Africa, New Zealand, England, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Bangladesh, Zimbabwe, Netherlands, and Kenya Participated in the tournament. India beat South Africa in the first semi-final by ten runs. Sri Lanka beat Australia by seven wickets to reach the final. In the final, the match was abandoned due to heavy rain. India and Sri Lanka became the co-champions. The event had a prize pool of $1 million, with the winning teams set to earn $525,000 collectively. All matches occurred in Colombo, at the R. Premadasa Stadium and the Sinhalese Sports Club Ground.

ICC Champions Trophy 2004

The 2004 ICC Champions Trophy, hosted by England, was a significant ODI cricket event featuring twelve teams, including the ten Test nations, Kenya, and the United States, which made its ODI debut. The matches were played over 16 days across three venues: Edgbaston, The Rose Bowl, and The Oval. Pakistan, West Indies, England, and Australia qualified for the semi-finals. West Indies emerged victorious, claiming their first Champions Trophy title. Ramnaresh Sarwan was named Player of the Tournament. England was the runner-up. Marcus Trescothick scored the most runs, while Andrew Flintoff took the most wickets during the tournament.

ICC Champions Trophy 2006

India hosted the 2006 ICC Champions Trophy. Australia, West Indies, South Africa, and New Zealand played in the semi-finals. Australia clinched their first Champions Trophy title, with West Indies as the runner-up. Chris Gayle was the standout Player, securing the Player of the Series title with the most runs (474) and his teammate Jerome Taylor taking the most wickets (13). The tournament was praised for its unpredictability and sporting pitches, considered atypical for one-day cricket on the subcontinent. This edition saw the lowest team totals in its history, highlighting the challenging conditions for batsmen.

ICC Champions Trophy 2009

The 2009 ICC Champions Trophy was held in South Africa from September 22 to October 5. Initially planned for Pakistan in 2008, it was relocated due to security concerns. Featuring the top eight seeded teams, the tournament had no associate nation participation. After the round-robin group stages, Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand, and England reached the Semi-Finals. Australia won their second consecutive title by defeating New Zealand in the final. Ricky Ponting was the Player of the series, with the most runs (288), and Wayne Parnell took the most wickets (11).

ICC Champions Trophy 2013

The 2013 ICC Champions Trophy, hosted by England and Wales from June 6 to June 23, was the seventh edition of the tournament. India emerged as the champions, securing their second title by narrowly defeating England in the final. The competition was contested by eight teams divided into two groups, with the top two moving to the semi-finals. Shikhar Dhawan from India was the Player of the series, leading with 363 runs, and his compatriot Ravindra Jadeja took the most wickets with 12 dismissals. India’s victory came with a significant prize of $2 million. Initially thought to be the final edition, the ICC later confirmed that the Champions Trophy would continue, replacing the proposed World Test Championship.

ICC Champions Trophy 2017

ICC Champions Trophy

The 2017 ICC Champions Trophy, held in England and Wales from June 1 to 18, saw Pakistan clinch their first title with a decisive 180-run victory over India in the final at The Oval. This victory margin was the largest by any team in the final of an ICC ODI tournament. Eight top-ranked ODI teams participated, and the event was notable for the return of Bangladesh and the absence of the West Indies. Pakistan, India, England, and Bangladesh reached the semi-final. The tournament faced challenges, with rain affecting 5 of the 15 matches. Hasan Ali from Pakistan was named the Player of the series, and Shikhar Dhawan of India scored the most runs. The prize pool was $4.5 million, with Pakistan receiving $2.2 million and India $1.1 million.

Future Tournaments

ICC announced the World Test Championship and ended the Champions Trophy run in 2017. However, later, it was revealed that Pakistan is given the chance to host the ICC Champions Trophy, which will return in 2025. ICC also announced that India will host the 2029 edition of the ICC Champions Trophy.