Indian Premier League (IPL)

History of the Indian Premier League

Indian Premier League IPL

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a professional T20 cricket league in India, officially known as the Vivo Indian Premier League for sponsorship reasons. Please refer to cricket exchange. IPL is the biggest T20 league in the world. It was founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2007, the first official franchise league in cricket. The IPL has been a commercial success and contributed significantly to the growth of cricket in India and globally. It has become one of the most-watched sporting leagues in the world, attracting top talent from various cricket-playing nations. The league continues to evolve and remains a prominent fixture in the cricketing calendar.

Here’s a brief history of the IPL:

 Start of IPL

The inaugural season of the IPL took place in 2008. It was the brainchild of Lalit Modi, then Vice President of the BCCI. Eight franchises were introduced, representing various Indian cities or regions. Another league started the franchise setup with the name of ICL. The IPL authorities banned all the players from participating in the ICL and ended the controversial league in 2009. The start of the IPL involved eight teams. The teams were:

Indian Premier League IPL players
  1. Kolkata Knight Riders (owned by Shah Rukh Khan, Juhi Chawla, and Jay Mehta)
  2. Chennai Super Kings (owned by India Cements)
  3. Rajasthan Royals (owned by Manoj Badale)
  4. Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals, owned by GMR Group)
  5. Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings, owned by Preity Zinta, Ness Wadia, Mohit Burman, and Karan Paul)
  6. Mumbai Indians (owned by Reliance Industries)
  7. Royal Challengers Bangalore (owned by United Spirits, a subsidiary of Diageo)
  8. Deccan Chargers (owned by the Deccan Chronicle)

Successive Seasons (2009-2023)

The IPL gained immense popularity in India and around the world. It became an annual event, typically held in the April-May timeframe. Over the years, several teams changed ownership and branding. The new teams are introduced in the upcoming seasons. Different teams come and go in the IPL. Here is a list.

  • Deccan Charges started in 2008 and defunct in 2012
  • Kochi Tuskers Kerala played only the 2011 season
  • Pune Warriors India entered 2011 and left in 2013
  • Rising Pune Supergiant played from 2016 to 2018
  • Gujarat Lion also played two seasons from 2016 to 2018
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad joined the frame in 2013 and stayed till now
  • Lucknow SuperGiants started its IPL campaign in 2022
  • Gujarat Titans started playing IPL in 2022

IPL Winners List

Indian Premier League IPL team
  • 2008: Rajasthan Royals
  • 2009: Deccan Chargers
  • 2010: Chennai Super Kings
  • 2011: Chennai Super Kings
  • 2012: Kolkata Knight Riders
  • 2013: Mumbai Indians
  • 2014: Kolkata Knight Riders
  • 2015: Mumbai Indians
  • 2016: Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • 2017: Mumbai Indians
  • 2018: Chennai Super Kings
  • 2019: Mumbai Indians
  • 2020: Mumbai Indians
  • 2021: Chennai Super Kings
  • 2022: Gujarat Titans
  • 2023: Chennai Super Kings

Controversies and Challenges

The IPL has faced its share of controversies, including team ownership, match-fixing, and betting scandals. In 2010, two new teams, Pune Warriors India and Kochi Tuskers Kerala, were introduced, increasing the number of franchises to ten.

        i.            Lalit Modi Controversy (2010)

Lalit Modi, the original architect of the IPL, was embroiled in a major controversy in 2010. He was accused of financial irregularities, including rigging bids and misappropriating funds. This led to his suspension from the BCCI, and subsequently, he was removed from all cricketing positions.

      ii.            Betting and Match-Fixing Scandals (2013)

A betting and match-fixing scandal marred the 2013 IPL season. Several players were arrested for alleged involvement, including three Rajasthan Royals players – S. Sreesanth, Ankeet Chavan, and Ajit Chandila. The owners of Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals, Gurunath Meiyappan and Raj Kundra, respectively, were also found guilty of betting. As a result, both teams were suspended for two years.

    iii.            Spot-Fixing Allegations (2013)

 Apart from the betting scandal, there were allegations of spot-fixing, where specific aspects of a game are manipulated. It further tarnished the reputation of the league. The incidents involved International player Sreesanth and local players Ankeet Chavan and Ajit Chandila.

    iv.            Suspension of Teams

The Deccan Chargers were terminated in 2012 due to financial issues and were replaced by the Sunrisers Hyderabad. In 2015, Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals were suspended for two years due to their involvement in a betting scandal. They returned in 2018. This decision was met with mixed reactions and sparked debates about whether the punishment was sufficient.

Evolving Format

The format of the IPL has seen tweaks over the years. Initially, it followed a double round-robin format, semi-finals, and a final. In 2011, the format was modified to include a playoff system. The league stage was followed by two qualifiers, an eliminator, and a final.

Covid-19 Pandemic

The 2020 season faced disruptions due to the COVID-19 pandemic. It was eventually held in the United Arab Emirates with strict biosecurity measures. The Mumbai Indians won their fifth title.

Prize Money and Awards

Indian Premier League IPL award

The total prize money of IPL is 49 Crore (6.2 million USD). The winning team gets 20 Crore ($2.7 million), and the runner-up team gets 13 Crore ($1.7 million). The half of this prize money is distributed among the players. There are a few other awards for players and teams.

Orange Cap: This award is given to the player who scores the most runs in a single season of the IPL.

Purple Cap: This award is presented to the player who takes the most wickets in a single season of the IPL.

Most Valuable Player (MVP): This award is given to the player with the most significant impact on the tournament based on a combination of factors, including runs, wickets, fielding, and more.

Emerging Player Award: This is given to the best-performing player in the tournament who is under 19 years old at the start of the season.

Fair Play Award: This award is presented to the team that plays the game with the most sportsmanship and adheres to the “Spirit of Cricket”.

Super Striker of the Season: This award is given to the player with the highest strike rate in the tournament.

Fastest Fifty/Fastest Century: These awards go to the players who score the fastest fifty or century in a single season.

Perfect Catch of the Season: This is awarded to the fielder who takes the most spectacular catch in the tournament.

Stylish Player of the Season: This award is given to players who showcase exceptional style and elegance in their gameplay.

Game Changer of the Season: This award is presented to the player who has significantly impacted a game, potentially turning the tide in their team’s favor.

Most Sixes Award: This goes to the player who hits the most sixes in a season.

Most Valuable Young Player: This is awarded to the best-performing player under 21 in a season.

Please visit Cricket Exchange CREX for cricket betting.