Pakistan Super League (PSL)

History of the Pakistan Super League

Pakistan Super League PSL

The Pakistan Super League (PSL) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in Pakistan, similar to the Indian Premier League (IPL) in India. Please refer to cricket exchange. It was established by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) and held its inaugural season in 2016. The league is known as HBL Pakistan Super League because Habib Bank Limited is the main sponsor. There was no international cricket in Pakistan when PSL was started. However, it became a catalyst in bringing international cricket back to Pakistan. All credit goes to Pakistan Cricket Board Chairman Najam Sethi, who convinced all parties to start the tournament. Here’s a brief history of the PSL:

Inaugural Season (2016)

The first season of the PSL took place in 2016. It featured five franchises representing various cities or regions in Pakistan. The teams were:

  • Islamabad United (Owned by Leonine Global Sports owners Amna and Ali Naqvi)
  • Karachi Kings (ARY Media Group Owner Salman Iqbal)
  • Lahore Qalandars (Owned by Kausar Rana Resources Private Limited owner Rana Fawad)
  • Peshawar Zalmi (Owned by Businessmen Javed Afridi)
  • Quetta Gladiators ( Owned by Omar Associates owner Nadeem Omar)

PSL Winners List (2016-2023)

Pakistan Super League PSL player

List of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) winners from 2016 to 2023:

  • 2016: Islamabad United
  • 2017: Peshawar Zalmi
  • 2018: Islamabad United
  • 2019: Quetta Gladiators
  • 2020: Karachi Kings
  • 2021: Multan Sultan
  • 2022: Lahore Qalandars
  • 2023: Lahore Qalandars

Expansion and Successive Seasons

Pakistan Super League PSL game

The league gained popularity and success in subsequent seasons. In 2017, the league expanded to six teams with the addition of Multan Sultans, owned by Ali Tareen, son of famous Agriculturist and businessman Jahangir Tareen. PCB tried to bring the 7th team to the franchise, but the previous franchise owners did not allow it as per the agreement. In the first few seasons, PSL was entirely played in the UAE. But, later, the Pakistan Cricket Board brought a few matches to the home and then entirely moved the PSL to home, which was played at Lahore, Karachi, Rawalpindi, and Multan venues.

Controversies and Challenges

1.  Spot-Fixing Scandal (2017)

A spot-fixing scandal marred the inaugural season of the PSL. Several players, including Sharjeel Khan and Khalid Latif from Islamabad United, were accused of being involved in corrupt practices. They were subsequently suspended and faced bans from cricket.

2.      Security Concerns and Venue Shifts

Due to security concerns in Pakistan, especially in the aftermath of the attack on the Sri Lankan cricket team in 2009, many matches in the initial seasons were held in the United Arab Emirates. It led to some logistical challenges and impacted the league’s ability to showcase Pakistan as a safe destination for international cricket.

3.      Player Availability

Some foreign players have expressed concerns about participating in the PSL due to security issues or scheduling conflicts with other leagues. This has led to occasional withdrawals of prominent overseas players from the tournament.

4.      Ownership and Financial Issues

 Like many leagues, there have been financial challenges and ownership disputes involving PSL franchises. These issues have occasionally affected the smooth functioning of the teams. Every year, there is a small discussion on the finance between PCB governing body and franchise owners.

5.      Coronavirus Pandemic

The COVID-19 pandemic impacted the PSL in 2020, as with many sporting events worldwide. The tournament was suspended and resumed later in the year with matches played in a biosecure bubble.

6.      Player Payment Disputes

 Some players have reported issues regarding payments from their respective franchises. These disputes have led to tensions between players and team management. Most recently, Australian player James Faulkner left the PSL with a payment issue.

7.      Foreign Players and Security Concerns

Initially, there were some concerns among foreign players about participating in the league due to security issues in Pakistan. As a result, some matches in the early seasons were held in the UAE. However, many players left the league when it returned to Pakistan at full capacity. In the last two seasons, most players came and played in Pakistan.

Prize Money and Individual Awards

Pakistan Super League PSL team logo

The total prize money for the winning team of PSL was PKR 120 Million for the 2023 season. The runner-up team got 48 million PKR. PSL has different individual awards for players every year. Every award winner got prize money of 3.5 million PKR in the 2023 season.

Best Batsman: This award is given to the player who has the most impact in batting in a single season of the PSL. In 2023, the best batsman earned 3.5 million PKR.

Best Bowler: This award is presented to the player named the tournament’s best bowler.

Best All-Rounder: This award goes to the player who demonstrates excellence in batting and bowling.

Emerging Player of the Season: This is awarded to the best-performing player in the tournament under 23 years old at the start of the season.

Man of the Match: This award is given to the player judged to have made the most significant impact in a specific match.

Player of the Tournament: This is awarded to the player who has the most significant impact on the entire tournament, based on a combination of factors, including runs, wickets, fielding, and more.

Best Wicketkeeper: This award goes to the wicketkeeper who demonstrates exceptional performance throughout the season.

Spirit of Cricket Award: This award is presented to the player who best exemplifies the spirit of sportsmanship and fair play.

Safe Hands Award: This is given to the wicketkeeper who takes the most catches and executes the most dismissals in a season.

Best Fielder: This award is given to the player who demonstrates exceptional fielding skills throughout the tournament.

Fastest Fifty/Fastest Century: These awards go to the players who score the fastest fifty or century in a single season.

Most Sixes Award: This goes to the player who hits the most sixes in a season.

Haneef Muhammad Cap: This award is given to the highest run scorer of PSL. Haneef Muhammad was a legendary Pakistani batsman called the ‘Little Master.’ A Green Cap is presented every season to the top run scorer of the PSL.

Fazal Mahmood Cap: Named after the legendary Pakistani bowler, This Maroon cap is given to the bowler who took the most wickets in a single season.

Imtiaz Alam Cap: Imtiaz Alam Cap is given to the best wicketkeeper of a single season.

The PSL has played a significant role in revitalizing cricket in Pakistan. It has brought back international cricket to the country and contributed to the sport’s growth and development at the grassroots level.

Please visit Cricket Exchange CREX for cricket betting.