West Indies Cricket Team

West Indies Cricket Team

Cricket debuted in the West Indies when the British brought it to the islands. Please refer to cricket exchange. In the early years, cricket was played mainly by the elites and the colonial masters. But it wasn’t long before cricket started making its way into the hearts of ordinary folks. It became a sport for everyone, transcending social classes. And that’s when the true magic of West Indies cricket began to unfold.

During the 1950s and 1960s, the West Indies team started making their mark on international cricket. Sir Garfield Sobers, Sir Vivian Richards, and Sir Frank Worrell became household names in the Caribbean and around the cricketing world. These West Indian legends weren’t just cricketers; they were superheroes in the eyes of the fans. Their fearless batting, lightning-quick pace bowling, and jaw-dropping fielding made cricket more than just a game.

West Indies Team Records

The West Indies team has been a dominant force in test cricket in the 1970s, 1980s, and 1990s. The team rules the shorter format in the 2010s. Here are the records they achieved in cricket as a team.

  • West Indies has played 573 test matches so far. The team won 182 and lost 209. The drawn test number is 181, with one game ending in a tie. The win percentage of the West Indies is 31.76.
  • West Indies has played 865 ODI matches so far. The team won 417 matches and lost 407 games. The number of tied games is 11, and matches with no results are 30. The win percentage of the West Indies is 50.
  • West Indies has taken part in 184 T20 matches. The team won 76 and lost 95. The number of tied T20s is three, and matches with no results are 10. The overall win percentage of the team is 41.30.

Performance in ICC Events

West Indies team won the first two ODI World Cups and became the first to win two T20 World Cups. However, the decline in performance is visible after that.

  • The West Indies team won the ICC ODI World Cup in 1975 and 1979. The team lost the final in the 1983 World Cup. After that, West Indies reached the semi-final of the 1996 World Cup.
  • In the T20 World Cups, the West Indies won the 2012 and 2016 World Cups. The team reached the semi-final stage in 2009 and 2014 events.
  • West Indies won the 2004 ICC Champions Trophy. The team played in the final Champions Trophy in 1998 and 2006 but could not win.
  • West Indies remained in 8th place in the ICC World Test Championships on both occasions.

Key Players

West Indies ruled cricket when it was still nurturing internationally, so their players have big records and names in World Cricket. Sir Garfield Sobers, Sir Vivian Richards, Clive Lloyd, Gorden Greenidge, Riche Richardson, Malcolm Marshall, Curtly Ambrose, Courtney Walsh, Ian Bishop, Desmond Haynes, Joel Garner, Jeff Dujon, Frank Worrall, Colin Croft, Brian Lara, Carl Hooper, Andy Roberts, Chris Gayle, Shivnarine Chandarpaul, Darren Sammy, Dwayne Bravo, Marlon Samuels, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell.

  • Brian Lara is the top run scorer of West Indies with 22260 runs in all formats. Chanderpaul is the 2nd best runs getter for his 20988 runs.
  • Courtney Walsh is the highest wicket-taker with 746 wickets to his name. Curtly Ambrose took 630 wickets in his career.
  • Clive Lloyd was the man who won both the 1975 and 1979 World Cups as Captain. Brian Lara won the ICC Champions Trophy in 2004 as Captain. Darren Sammy was the side’s Captain when it triumphed in Both ICC T20 World Cups.